The department of Disaster Preparedness and Engineering Management (DPEM) was established in 2010. It is one of the four academic departments in the Centre for Disaster Management and Humanitarian Assistance (CDMHA). Our focal areas are natural disaster management and environmental processes (earth and atmospheric sciences).We are committed to excellence and integrity.

In order to effectively achieve our commitments, DPEM has three technical divisions, through which members of staff can carry out research, consultancy and outreach activities. These include the Division of Environmental Health and Sanitation, which is concerned with activities that are related to environmental pollution and waste management, and is headed by Dr EM Neyole.

There is also the Division of Environmental Mechanics, concerned with activities related to soils physics, soil mechanics, landslide phenomenon, groundwater hydrology and plant physics, and is headed by Dr GW Waswa.

There is also the Division of Earth-Surface Hydrology and Atmospheric Sciences, whose activities include flood and drought phenomena and climate change, and is headed by Dr VM Kiluva.

The mandate of these divisions are to formulate proposals for funding; carry out research, consultancy and outreach activities; mobilize staff and students to participate and present findings in conferences and seminars; and publish research findings in refereed journals.

For administrative purpose, the department also has five main committees: (1) examination committee (Chaired by Dr EN Masibayi); (2) Graduate Studies Committee (Chaired by Dr EM Neyole); (3) Undergraduate Final Year Projects Committee (Chaired by Mr MN Akali); (4) Awards and Motivation Committee (Chaired by Prof SBB Oteng’i) and (5) Publicity Committee (Chaired by Dr V.M. Kiluva).

Chair of Department


Dr Edward Masibayi

Copyright © 2017. CDMHA | Welcome.